NewsFl@sh Header



The Bar Scene

With this issue of the Amicus Brief, we are delighted to highlight the Asian Bar Association of Washington. Several alumni serve as leaders and are active members of this organization; the School of Law is proud to support ABAW’s mission.


Following this organization highlight, you will find the upcoming event calendars for the different bar organizations in Washington State.  Also, we’ve listed where possible those alumni currently serving in leadership positions for each organization.* For more information about each bar, click on the organization name to be redirected to its website.


Help us keep your fellow alumni up to date by sending us information about what’s coming up in your bar associations to


Asian Bar Association of Washington

The Asian Bar Association of Washington (ABAW) serves as the voice for the Asian Pacific American legal profession in the State of Washington, promoting justice, equity and opportunity for Asian Pacific Americans.  Several Seattle University School of Law alumni are active on ABAW's board, including Serin Ngai ‘06 who is the current secretary and who will serve as vice president in 2010; Jeff Liang ‘07, at-large board member and chair of the Mentorship and Scholarship Committees; and Robyn Horton ‘06, at-large board member.

Thuy Nguyen-Leeper ‘01, who will serve as co-president-elect of ABAW in 2010 along with Judge Kenneth Kato (ret.), remarks about the partnership between ABAW and the law school: "ABAW has been very fortunate to continue its ongoing relationship with Seattle University. The law school has supported and shares in ABAW's goals of assisting its members with professional development, legal scholarship, advocacy and community involvement. The law student representatives from the law school who have served on our board have proven to be outstanding young leaders. And we are very proud to have so many Seattle University School of Law alumni actively involved on our board and among our membership."

ABAW finished its 22nd year with its Annual Banquet, which featured Father William J. Sullivan who was honored with the President's Award for his lifetime of service to the community. Interim Dean Annette Clark accepted the award on his behalf.

ABAW's creation in 1987 has also provided the impetus for more specific ethnic groups within the Asian legal community to form separate associations, including the Filipino Lawyers of Washington, Korean American Bar Association of Washington, South Asian Bar Association of Washington, and the Vietnamese American Bar Association of Washington. The separate Asian legal associations interact constantly with each other and with ABAW (as well as with the other non-Asian minority bar associations) on joint efforts including the Law Firm Diversity Survey, Judicial Evaluations, and the Statewide Diversity Conference.  For more information about ABAW, visit


Cardozo Society

Elana Zana ’07, Member
Jon Zimmerman ’04, Member


Filipino Lawyers of Washington

Gail Manuguid ‘06, Secretary

Mimi Castillo ’84, Board Member

Florian Puganan '04, Board Member


King County Bar Association

Craig Sims '97, Board of Trustees
The Honorable Joan E. Tierney ’01, Board of Trustees
Jeffrey Allen James ’88, Board of Trustees


King County Bar Association Young Lawyers Division

Johann Coolbaugh ’07, Vice-Chair
Megan Starks ’07, Secretary
Angela Macey-Cushman ’06, At Large Member
Thuy Nguyen-Leeper ’01, Trustee


Wednesday, March 10, 2010

KCBA Foundation “Breakfast of Champions”, Seattle


Korean American Bar Association of Washington

Juliana Wong ’02, Board Member At-Large

Naomi Kim '02, Board Member At-Large

Susan Chang '03, Board Member At-Large


Latina/o Bar Association of Washington

Fé Lopez ’06, President-elect


Loren Miller Bar Association

James Armstrong ’00, President
Twyla Carter ’07, Secretary
Craig Sims ’97, Immediate Past President
Wilberforce Agyekum ’00, Member At-Large
Sarica Parton ’05, Member At-Large
Jamal Whitehead ’07, Member At-Large


Middle Eastern Legal Association of Washington

Nima Seyedali ’05, Treasurer
Manal Boulos ’04, Secretary
Polly Peshtaz ’05, Membership Chair


Mother Attorneys Mentoring Association of Seattle

Heidi Baxter ’05, Co-Director of Annual Event

Lisa W. Gafken ’01, Co-Director of Annual Event and Treasurer

A.J. Tangeman ‘97, Vice President

Jennifer Wyatt ’03, Director of Logistics


Sunday, March 7, 2010

Moms and Kids Networking Event, KidsQuest Children's Museum, Factoria


Tuesday, March 9, 2010
Brown Bag Lunch: Topic to be announced, K & L Gates, Seattle


National Association of Corporate Directors, Seattle-Northwest Chapter

G. Scott Greenburg ’80, Chapter Chairman, Treasurer and Chair, 2010 Director of the Year Event

Catherine L. Walker ’80, Secretary and Past President


Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010

What Activist Shareholders Want and What’s Coming Next


Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010

The Government is Watching - March 30, 2010 Morning Program


Pierce County Minority Bar Association

Tracey Flood '99

Todd Howard ’05

Lynn Rainey '07

Victor Torres '06

Chrishendra Tucker-Scruggs '92

Ramona Writt '91



Cynthia Buhr ’05, President
Barbara Rhoads-Weaver ’03, Secretary


South Asian Bar Association of Washington

Rajiv Sarathy ’02, President


Tacoma-Pierce County Bar Association

David Snell ’90, President

Scott Candoo ’77, Vice President

Thomas Cena ’75, Board of Trustees

Lance Hester ’97, Secretary-Treasurer

Diana Kiesel ’84, Board of Trustees

Wayne Fricke ’86, Immediate Past President

Michael Clark ’93, Board of Trustees

Karl Williams ’86, Board of Trustees

Jennifer Taylor ’96, WA Women Lawyers Liaison

Todd Howard ’05, PC Minority Bar Liaison


Friday, February 19, 2010

Lincoln Day Banquet, Tacoma, WA


Vietnamese American Bar Association of Washington

Sinjin Dinh ’08, Board Member

Ty Ho ’04, Board Member

Catherine Le Vuong ’06, Board Member


Washington State Bar Association

Lori Haskell ’85, Governor, District 7 Central

Marc L. Silverman '82, Governer, District 1


Washington State Bar Association WYLD

Julia Bahner ’02, President-Elect

Marie N. Gallagher ’04, Trustee, Northwest District

Carla Lee '05, Governor, WYLD At-Large

Chris Maharry '03, Trustee, Pierce County District

Kari Petrasek ’02, Trustee, Snohomish District


Washington State Association for Justice

Carol Johnston ’95, President-Elect
Stephen Bulzomi ’85, 2nd VP West
Elizabeth Woody Lindquist ’94, 2nd VP Development
Terri Herring-Puz ’87, VP Legislative
Eric Michael Fong ‘96, 6th Cong. District
Thaddeus Martin ’98, 6th Cong. District
Jonathan K. Winemiller ’97, Editor-in-Chief
Teri L. Rideout ’83, 9th Cong. District
Tara L. Eubanks ’03, 2nd VP Membership
Marc L. Silverman ’82, At-Large
Todd C. Nichols ’84, VP CLE
Karen K. Koehler ’85, 2nd VP CLE and AAJ State Delegate
Rebecca J. Roe ’77, VP Public Affairs
Tara L. Eubanks ’03, 2nd VP Membership
Angela M. Macey-Cushman ’06, Secretary
Maria S. Diamond ’83, AAJ Board of Governors
Michael J. Fisher ’02, 8th Cong. District
Patrick H. LePley ’76, AAJ Board of Governors


Washington Women Lawyers

Tracy Sarich ’05, Immediate Past President

Allison Miller ’05, Co-Vice President Social Events
Martha Boden ’06, Vice President MAMAS Liaison
Sara Amies ’05, Co-Vice President CLEs
Lisa Leone ’95, Co-Vice President Professional Development
Shiva Eliza Tayebi ’03, Co-Vice President Professional Mentorship Program
Andrea Scheele ’05, Newsletter/Advertising Manager
Iris Tilley ’08, Community/Outreach Committee Member At-Large



* We have made our best attempt to publish an accurate list.
If we have missed you, please notify us so that we may update our information. Thank you!

Return to the Home Page