Seattle U students reach top eight teams for NALSA moot court

March 10, 2014

Jocelyn McCurtain and Drew Pollom A team of two Seattle University School of Law students — Jocelyn McCurtain and Drew Pollom — advanced to the "Elite Eight" teams at the National Native American Law Students Association Moot Court Competition recently.

Held at the University of Oklahoma College of Law Feb. 28 - March 1, the competition drew more than 60 teams representing law schools from 17 states across the country. (For full results, visit the group's website.)

McCurtain and Pollom's primary coaches were Professors Eric Eberhard, Charlotte Garden, and Denis Stearns. They also received coaching from Professors Christian Halliburton and Catherine O'Neill.

Both students are in their second year of law school.

The team's participation was supported by the Center for Indian Law & Policy. They were also supported by the Admissions Office and the Student Bar Association.

The National Native American Law Students Association was founded in 1970 to promote the study of Federal Indian Law, Tribal Law, and traditional forms of governance, and to support Native Americans in law school.

The group encourages native people to pursue legal education, but also strives to educate the legal community about native issues.