Social Justice Leadership Committee

Mission Statement

The Social Justice Leadership Committee seeks to advance the School of Law’s social justice mission and promote the well-being of all students in their academic pursuits and beyond. The Committee is focused on creating an inclusive and equitable environment where students feel safe and supported. In particular, the Committee works to identify and combat structural and institutional barriers that affect students from traditionally marginalized groups. Through student and faculty collaboration, the Committee works to provide resources and develop solutions to promote equity at the Law School and in the broader legal community.

History and Accomplishments

The Social Justice Leadership Committee (SJLC) was formed through the work of the Social Justice Coalition, a student organization during the 2008-2009 academic year that focused on increasing student collaboration, promoting, and improving Seattle University School of Law’s social justice mission. Some changes the SJLC has been able to implement are the following:

  1. Gender neutral restroom located on the first floor in the clinic
  2. Bias response plan to be rolled out by the main university early 2019
  3. Faculty race equity trainings from 2015-2017
  4. Increased accessibility to the library via installation of an automatic door opener
  5. Creation of wellness week for mental health awareness
  6. Creation of a response plan for undocumented students in 2017


Chairs of the Social Justice Leadership Committee and its staff/faculty members are Dean appointed. In addition to the carryover of students from last year, new students were selected at the beginning of the year whose interests align with the committee. This year, we added our two Scholars for Justice. If you are interested in becoming a member, please contact


Atcuson, Kory
B. Williams
Baek, Sunjung
Chen, Denise
Choudhry, Zyreena
Haveliwala, Khadija
Jurman, Cecily
Mesihovic, Nina
Mousavi, Roxanneh
Nina, Ana
Pierce, Kari
Pollard, Rachel
Sakamoto, Jaclyn
Story, Cole
Sullivan, Tori

Staff and Faculty

Professor Sara Rankin
Colin Watrin
Professor Jill Dutton
Professor Steve Bender



Description coming soon.

Bias Response

Description coming soon.

Advanced Race Equity Training

Description coming soon.

Affinity Groups

Description coming soon.

Events and Minutes

Advanced Race Equity Training: January 22, 2019, 12:30-3:30 p.m. Jeff Robinson, ACLU Deputy Legal Director and Director of the Trone Center for Justice and Equality presents Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America.

September 12, 2018, Meeting Minutes

October 10, 2018, Meeting Minutes

September 5, 2019, Meeting Minutes

November 13, 2019, Meeting Minutes

September 16, 2020, Meeting Minutes

November 18, 2020, Meeting Minutes