Legal Writing Faculty

Our nationally known Legal Writing faculty focus on teaching students the skills they will use every day as practicing lawyers. They have published six books and countless articles, including many in use at other law schools. They also founded the Legal Writing Institute, a 2,200-plus member organization that has worked to foster the development of legal writing in law schools across the country and in numerous foreign countries. Faculty members have taught legal writing in Russia, India, Uganda, Kenya, and South Africa. Members of the faculty have been recognized both for their contributions to the profession and for their outstanding teaching.

Mary Bowman

Mary Bowman

Director, Legal Writing Program

Sullivan Hall 436
Phone: (206) 398-4019
E-mail: bowmanm1@seattleu.edu

Mimi Samuel

Mimi Samuel

Associate Director

Sullivan Hall 323
Phone: (206) 398-4066
Email: msamuel@seattleu.edu

J. Christopher Rideout

J. Christopher Rideout

Associate Director

Sullivan Hall 426
Phone: (206) 398-4015
E-mail: rideout@seattleu.edu

Lorraine Bannai

Lorraine Bannai

Sullivan Hall 124
Phone: (206) 398-4009
E-mail: bannail@seattleu.edu

Deborah L. Borman

Debbie Borman

Visiting Assistant Professor of Lawyering Skills

Sullivan Hall
Phone (206) 398-4320
Email: bormand@seattleu.edu

Deirdre Bowen

Deirdre Bowen

Sullivan Hall 324
Phone: (206) 398-4289
E-mail: dbowen@seattleu.edu

Janet K.G. Dickson

Janet K. G. Dickson

Sullivan Hall 441
Phone: (206) 398-4062
E-mail: dicksonj@seattleu.edu

Constance Krontz

Constance Krontz

Sullivan Hall 463
Phone: (206) 398-4037
E-mail: ckrontz@seattleu.edu

Leslie Meserole

Leslie Meserole

Sullivan Hall 414
Phone: (206) 398-4023
E-mail: meseroll@seattleu.edu

Laurel Currie Oates

Laurel Currie Oates

Sullivan Hall 325
Phone: (206) 398-4014
E-mail: loates@seattleu.edu

Sara Rankin

Sara Rankin

Sullivan Hall 461
Phone: (206) 398-4393
E-mail: rankins@seattleu.edu

Anne Enquist

Anne Enquist

Professor Emerita

E-mail: ame@seattleu.edu

Faculty Awards

Professor Anne Enquist received the 2014 Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. In 2007, she won the Service Award from the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.

Professor Laurel Currie Oates received the Thomas M. Holdych Award for Meritorious and Transformational Service in 2012. In 2009, she received the Marjorie Rombauer Award for Contributions to the Teaching of Legal Writing. In 2007 she received the Burton Award for Outstanding Contribution to Legal Writing Education. In addition, she received Seattle University Alumni Association's Distinguished Teaching Award in 1997, and the Association of American Law Schools' Legal Writing, Research, and Analysis Section Award in 2003.

Professor J. Christopher Rideout was named Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year in 2012, 1998, and 1995. In 2009, he received the Mary Lawrence Award from the Legal Writing Institute for outstanding contributions to legal writing scholarship.

Professor Deirdre Bowen in 2010 received an award for Best Paper for the National People of Color Legal Scholarship Conference Junior Faculty Writing Competition Award Winner for her article American Skin: Dispensing with Colorblindness and Critical Mass 73 U. Pittsburgh L. Rev. 109 (2012).

In 1998, the Legal Writing Institute gave special awards to Professors Anne Enquist, Christopher Rideout, and Laurel Currie Oates for their contributions to the profession.